Vives de la Cortada 9.5/10
★★★★★
based on 1909 published reviews 10 1

Latest neutral customer reviews

3/5
★★★☆☆
I was a bit disappointed because I got a very small stone, 1cm or so and the silver of the setting was quite dirty ūüôĀ but well, my first tourmaline.
Answer from Vives de la Cortada
Good Marta, we are sorry that your experience has not been satisfactory, from here we want to remind you that, if any product is not what you expected, you can return the items within 48 hours of receiving the order. If you have any doubts, you can check the conditions in the section ".
2/5
★★☆☆☆
They lower the price of sage, but the quality too.
3/5
★★★☆☆
It has interesting products at a good price
3/5
★★★☆☆
My rating is based on the fact that you never pick up the phone.... There is no way to communicate with you!!!!!
Answer from Vives de la Cortada
Good morning Angie, we're sorry to hear about your bad experience. We recommend that you always call during business hours. Thank you and sorry for the inconvenience.
3/5
★★★☆☆
The bracelet is excessively small, it didn't look like that on the web image.
3/5
★★★☆☆
Some of the products sent are of very high quality.
2/5
★★☆☆☆
Não sao peças bonitas nem nas melhores condiçoes
Answer from Vives de la Cortada
Good day Mario, we are sorry that the product is not to your liking. If there is any damage to your order or if it arrived broken, please contact us by sending an email to [email protected]
3/5
★★★☆☆
I have placed several orders and although with the first ones I was very happy because the presentation of the product was excellent, with the last one I have been very disappointed. In the first shipments the bracelets came wrapped in plastic with a company card and a very original cloth bag but in the third order came all in a plastic bag without more. I think they should take more care of the detail as it is not so expensive and gives very good publicity for the company. They have always arrived quickly that's true.
Answer from Vives de la Cortada
Good morning Natalia. We are having a bit of saturation when it comes to preparing orders and may sometimes forget to have the detail of wrapping with the cloth bag. We have notified the staff and we apologize for our part.
3/5
★★★☆☆
Good! Perfect delivery, but the incense burner is too small .... a little disappointed ...
Answer from Vives de la Cortada
Hello Susana, for this type of product that you mention, you have the exact measurements in the item description.
3/5
★★★☆☆
The physical store is a marvel. However, the online store leaves a little to be desired in terms of time. There are other online mineral shops that are much faster and more efficient.
3/5
★★★☆☆
I would repeat
3/5
★★★☆☆
Good buy, but it took too long
3/5
★★★☆☆
I expected more quality.
3/5
★★★☆☆
The stones are tiny and the others are not very regular...
3/5
★★★☆☆
I received it in 24 hours, the time requested was not respected (and that was specified on the label) but I do not know if this problem was the courier or the store. The product received this time was not of the desired quality, I do not know if I will repeat, regarding the products we regret that they are not to your liking. As it is outside the period established as an exceptional case we can process a refund of the product. "Regarding the products we regret that they are not to your liking. Since it is outside the period established as an exceptional case we can process a refund of the product".
Answer from Vives de la Cortada
Good Rebeca, I see that what you say about the shipping is correct on our part, you have arrived in 24 hours. If the carrier respects it or not, it is no longer within our control.
3/5
★★★☆☆
The pendant was not at all what I expected.
3/5
★★★☆☆
Lack of presentation of the product, indicating that it was for a gift.
Answer from Vives de la Cortada
Sorry Ivan, but we don't have a gift wrapping option (at the moment). We'll write it down for the future. Sorry for the inconvenience.
3/5
★★★☆☆
I was disappointed with how the pieces came, all together in bulk in one bag. I didn't like the lack of labeling, none of them had their name on them.
3/5
★★★☆☆
I placed a large order for many pieces and some were not of the quality I expected.
Answer from Vives de la Cortada
Good Abel, we are sorry that your experience has not been satisfactory, from here we want to remind you that if any product is not what you expected, you can return the items within 48 hours of receiving the order. If you have any doubts, you can check the conditions in the section ".
2/5
★★☆☆☆
I had broken products and the supplier does not take any news to know if I am happy".
Answer from Vives de la Cortada
Good Marc, I have been informed by the warehouse that they have contacted you and that they will send you new units of the products that arrived broken in your next order. Are you satisfied with the solution they have given you? Best regards.